Learn to crochet and knit for a granny-chic twist on your wardrobe and home.

Hello creative kitties,

I have been feeling very inspired to improve my knitting and crochet skills after reading Granny Chic, which my dear sister Jade Barnes bought for me.

I mastered the basic stitches a few years ago after pestering my mum to teach me. Eventually her patience paid off and I’ve made a few projects since then. Nowadays I dedicate much more time to crafts, so it seems like a good time to share some of my experiences so far on my shiny new blog.

Yarn and book, needles and hook.
Yarn and book, needles and hook!

Some knitting and crochet patterns, such as the ones featured in Granny Chic, require you to have mastered the basic skills before attempting to make the projects. If you are a beginner, I would recommend that you dedicate time to learning the basics by investing in some supplies and a book for beginners. Also, follow free online tutorials such as :  learn to knit and learn to crochet. Then, like me, you will soon be able to move on to more advanced patterns like the crochet tea cosy made by a fellow craft blogger, which is featured in Granny Chic. I can’t wait to make this! Watch this space.

“So if you too have a fondness for vintage fabrics, yarny goodness and forgotten finds with a tale to tell, then this book will be your cup of tea.” Granny Chic.

Please don’t feel intimidated by the terminology and don’t be too quick to give up; with a bit of perseverance you’ll be knitting, purling and casting-off before you know it. Remember that crafts should be fun! I went along to a Creative Stitches and Hobbycrafts show last year and ended up taking part in a knitting competition to find the person who could knit the most stockinette stitches in three minutes. Some of the older ladies had years of experience and sparks were coming off their needles! I didn’t come last, thankfully, but more importantly it was such good fun; it’s the taking part that counts.

Once you have grasped the basics, why not start with a really easy project like knitting a little hat for the Innocent Big Knit campaign? Innocent put the little donated hats on their juices and smoothies and share a percentage of the proceeds with Age UK. The doddle hat is a perfect for beginners. Here’s one I made earlier:

(Drum-roll please…)

My very 'doddle' hat!
My very first ‘doddle’ hat!

Or why not experiment with the basic stitches and design your own creations? I made this colourful and cosy snood by using 5mm knitting needles and a couple of balls of multicoloured double-knit yarn. I cast on stitches until I reached the desired width of my snood and then used a knit 2, purl 2 pattern to get a ribbed effect until I reached the right length before casting-off. I then used the same yarn and a darning needle to attach the two ends together, et voilà:

Knit 2, purl 2 snood
Knit 2, purl 2 snood

Or you could get festive and start making Christmas decorations by following patterns such as the ones featured in Twenty to Make Mini Christmas Knits? Here’s my attempt at making the heart tree decoration:

Blanket stitch tree heart
Blanket stitch tree heart

Finally, why not store your supplies in an eye-catching knitting bag? My mum made this one for me using retro floral-print thick linen and plastic handles purchased from a local haberdashery store. I stitched on the daisy chain trim to make it even lovelier.

Retro-inspired knitting bag
Retro-inspired knitting bag

I do hope you have enjoyed my insight to getting crafty with wool. Please feel free to share any tips and resources for improving in the comments section.

A très bientôt !

Lauren

3 thoughts on “Learn to crochet and knit for a granny-chic twist on your wardrobe and home.

  1. Once you get into your knitting you really should try using bamboo needles. They are a little more expensive but somehow, and I know it sounds a little weird, but they make it an even more enjoyable experience. H x

Leave a Reply

