Fifi Part 1: The Raspberry Ripple Effect

This is a funny story. I was on one of my Ikea trips, the kind where you get excited and throw everything in the basket, and then you almost faint when you see the total cost at the till. One of the items was a raspberry-patterned quilt cover, which I threw in the basket without checking the size. When I got it home and took it out of the packet, it was so big I nearly got lost in it!

Then, I remembered I know how to sew – yay! I adjusted the quilt cover to size and started to think about how I could put all the excess fabric to good use and make the best Ikea hack ever. I had just purchased Tilly and the Buttons’ Fifi pattern, and luckily I had just about enough fabric left over to make both pieces of the pyjama set.

Fifi Boudoir Set

I really enjoyed making this pattern; it was surprisingly easy and the process taught me a some new skills:

  • Cutting fabric on the bias to change the way the fabric hangs
  • French seams
  • Making bias binding

I am so pleased with the results: they are so feminine, flattering and comfortable to wear. It makes me so happy that I was able to take some scrap fabric and turn it into something so pretty and unique. I made it even more special by adding a heart-shaped button and a bow for added detail.

I even had enough fabric left over to make a matching eye mask! Free pattern here.

This mask is a little messy (I struggled to sew neat curves because the delicate fabric I used on the reverse side kept moving around) but I have plenty more left to have another go and maybe even make some for gifts!

Next project: Fifi Part 2 – my handmade Halloween outfit! I can’t wait to share it with you.

One thought on “Fifi Part 1: The Raspberry Ripple Effect

  1. Adorable, and great save on the too-large-duvet fabric! I love sewing lingerie, have just started, but so enjoy my hand-made silk knickers: seriously, it’s awesome how much money we can save, plus get the right fit, fabric & design! That sleep mask is too cute, too!

Leave a Reply

